Tags

, ,

For me, the award season is an exciting time.  I don’t always watch the award shows, but I often tune in for the recap.  I love discovering new movies and music, but I also love to see the acknowledgment of work well done.   Most of you have probably heard of the Grammys, Golden Globes, or Oscars, but have you heard of the Randolph Caldecott Medal?

You’re correct if you guessed that it is a book award for best picture book for children.  What you might not realize is that the award can be as scandalous and exciting as the Oscars.  Like most awards, the Caldecott has its own amount of drama.  Predictions are made, conspiracies and gossip fly, and the “man on the street” weighs in.  If that doesn’t convince you, check out the excitement from the crowd posted in the Chicago Tribune.

The PSC library has a small juvenile book collection where you can find all the award winners (search the catalog by the title of the book).  One of my favorite Caldecott winners (and my son wholeheartedly agrees) is Mo Willems.  He has written a slew of fabulous children’s books, but two of his Caldecott winners that stand out are.

Knuffle Bunny

Knuffle Bunny Too

When I looked at the list of past winners, I was amazed to see so many books I loved as a kid.  Check out the list, and tell me about your favorite Caldecott books.

