Little Cabin in the Woods

It’s cold in Chicago Heights, really cold. So… on a cold blustery day, where would you rather be? If you pictured the ideal place to zap yourself to, anywhere in the world, where would you go?

Cabin covered in snow.
This is where I would go.

Photo by Pixabay / CC BY

Yup, not Florida, not Mexico, not somewhere warm… but a little cabin all covered in snow. Ever since I was a kid I’ve been obsessed with homesteading and outdoor living… blame the books: Little House on the Prairie, Hatchet, My Side of the Mountain… you name it, I’ve probably read it. More recently I’ve upped the anty, trying to learn skills that I can apply to a homesteading venture: canning, wood crafting, cabin building, raising livestock. My favorite TV shows of late have been Frontier House and Alaska: The Last Frontier. Bring on the gardens, the chickens, and especially these guys:

Sheep in snow
I have a thing for sheep

Photo by Editor5807 / GNU FDL

So, for now I’m scouring the Prairie State College Library for books to help me out with my dreams and endeavors and practicing what I can in my little apartment covered in snow. How about you?

For books on homesteading topics, check these out!

One thought on “Little Cabin in the Woods

  1. I agree with you, the cabin in the woods sound lovely. To be away from people and to get back in tune with nature sounds like a dream to me. Maybe the property could have a little stream or pond for fishing as well.

Leave a Reply

