Library HELP!: a monthly blog to help you student


Study Tips from a Nerd
Growing up I desperately wanted to be cool. I thought that by wearing the right jeans (Guess at the time this picture was taken) or watching the right shows, I could somehow purchase the good graces of the cool kids. It didn’t work.

At some point I stopped trying and slowly accepted that I was a nerd. I played the viola in orchestra. I liked to read and study. Peers aside, I liked school. As a result, I learned a thing or two about being a student that served me well. These study skills took years to acquire and would like to share those skills with you. As a side note- I did my library science degree online, so I learned how to be an online student.

My friends and I sometimes had to study and practice under some pretty subpar circumstances. One friend practiced her flute in the barn and I in the garage. I once studied in an unfinished attic. You shouldn’t strive for this. The point of this blog entry isn’t to shame or encourage you to “make things happen” no matter what. I wanted to share some things that work for me. The fact that you are doing the thing even under these circumstances is quite enough. As always- take what works for your life and leave the rest. Here is my advice from one online student to another in no particular order.

  • Image of a to do list
  • Image of an old fashioned alarm clock
  • This is an image of an hour glass
  • Gif of a cartoon typing on a computer while sitting in a skillet over a flame.
  • Image of a man putting his finger to his mouth to shush someone
  • Image of incense
  • Gif of Snoop Dogg saying, "You gotta read the syllabus."
  • Image of stressed out man over his laptop
  • Image of group working together
  • Stephen Colbert flipping through notes
  • Gif of Bill Murray asking for help.
  • Gif of Darth Vader and a storm trooper reading Star Wars books at the library.

Interested in reading more? Cal Newport talks about the paradox of productivity in the modern office. We have more technology to make tasks easier, but what if this is just creating more make-work? Check out his article in Wired. We also have some of his ebooks, including, Digital minimalism Choosing a focused life in a noisy world.

Leave a comment